Past Recipients of the *Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.* Award

1988 Elva Bell 1989 Joanne Weaver-Stroh 1990 Shirley M. Dennis 1990 William D. C. Dennis 1991 Rev. Lowell M. McCown, Jr. 1992 Helen Lee Johnson 1993 William A. Holt, Jr. 1994 Allen Mitchell 1995 M. Sqt. Oliver Roach 1996 Rev. Thomas C. Griffin 1997 Mr. & Mrs. Joseph P. West, Sr. 1998 Rev. Robert Johnson Smith 1999 James & Jessie Jones 2000 McKinley Lennox 2001 Tony Williams 2002 Oscar P. Vance, Jr. 2003 Dr. Donald Clark 2004 Rabbi Harold Waintrup

- 2005 Pastor Robert Johnson Smith II (posthumous)
- 2006 Mrs. Lillian Ouarles 2007 Black Women's Educational 2008 Ms. Valerie Ward 2009 Ms. Rennee J. Dinkins 2010 Malessia A. Dennis. Mary T. Sachs Breast Center at AMH 2011 Pastor Jerome F. Coleman 2012 Mrs. Margot A. Clark 2013 Montford Point Marines 2014 Steven A. Johnson, MD, FACS 2015 Hon. Garrett D. Page, Judge 2016 Rev. Dr. Miriam J. Burnett, MD, MDiv, MPH, CHCOM-PHYADV 2017 Chief William J. Kelly
- 2018 Rev. Charles W. Quann

Lift Ev'ry Voice and Sing! The Negro National Anthem

"Lift every voice and sing, 'Til earth and heaven ring, Ring with the harmonies of liberty. Let our rejoicing rise High as the list'ning skies, Let it resound loud as the rolling sea. Sing a song full of the faith that the dark past has taught us; Sing a song full of the hope that the present has brought us; Facing the rising sun of our new day begun, Let us march on till victory is won."

The No Place for Hate Pledge

"I promise to try to respect ALL people, including those who are different from me. I promise to do my best to make our community NO PLACE FOR HATE." The Township of Abington Montgomery County, Pennsylvania

presents

The Thirty-Fourth Annual *Rev. Dr.* Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Service

Monday, January 21, 2019 • 12:00 рм

Abington Senior High School Auditorium

900 Highland Avenue, Abington, PA 19001

Hosted by The Abington Township Board of Commissioners

Ward 1 Steven N. Kline Ward 2 **Kenneth Brodsky** Ward 3 **Drew Rothman** Ward 4 **Jimmy DiPlacido** Ward 5 Wayne C. Luker Ward 6 **Michael Thompson** Ward 7 **Ben Sanchez** Ward 8 Peggy Myers Ward 9 **Dennis Zappone** Ward 10 Jessica Carswell Ward 11 John L. Spiegelman Ward 12 **Matthew Vahey** Ward 13 **Carol Gillespie** Ward 14 Lori A. Schreiber Ward 15 **Thomas Bowman**

<u>Program</u>

Welcome

Dr. Jeffery S. Fecher, Superintendent, Abington School District

Master of Ceremonies

Mr. Virgil B. Walker, Assistant United States Attorney (retired)

PLEASE STAND.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance</u>

Abington Township Honor Guard

Negro National Anthem: Lift Evry Voice and Sing! Led by Ms. Renee Royal, Salem Baptist Church of Roslyn Musical accompaniment by Pastor Paul Scott

No Place for Hate Pledge

Mrs. Shirley Dennis & APD Deputy Chief Kelly Warner

PLEASE BE SEATED.

Remarks by Federal, State, & County Officials

Hon. Madeleine Dean, U.S. Representative, 4th Congressional District
Hon. Ben Sanchez, State Representative, 153rd Legislative District
Hon. Art Haywood, State Senator, 4th Senatorial District
Hon. Josh Shapiro, Attorney General, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Hon. Dr. Valerie A. Arkoosh, Chair, Montgomery County Commissioners
Hon. Kenneth Lawrence, Vice Chair, Montgomery County Commissioners

Musical Selection

Ms. Renee Royal, Salem Baptist Church of Roslyn Musical accompaniment by Pastor Paul Scott

Presentation of Speaker

Hon. Napoleon Nelson, Treasurer, Cheltenham Township

Keynote Speaker

Hon. Kelley B. Hodge, Esq., 25th District Attorney of the City of Philadelphia <u>Tributes to Dr. King</u>

Overlook Elementary School, Mr. Joshua Perlman, Principal Rydal Elementary School, Dr. Lyndsay Morgan, Principal Abington Junior High School, Mr. Daniel File, Principal

• Special Recognition Award •

Presentation of Award

Mr. Anthony W. Luker, Education Outreach Specialist, Office of the Attorney General, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Award Recipient

Mr. Bernard Griggs, Jr., Philadelphia Building Trades & Construction Council

• Thirty-Fourth Annual Memorial Award •

for Promoting Harmony, Cooperation, and Understanding within Our Community in the Spirit of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Presentation of Award

Hon. Wayne C. Luker, Ward 5 Commissioner & President, Abington Township Board of Commissioners

Award Recipient

Hon. Kelley B. Hodge, Esq.,

25th District Attorney of the City of Philadelphia; first African-American woman to serve as District Attorney in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Musical Selection

Ms. Renee Royal, Salem Baptist Church of Roslyn Musical accompaniment by Pastor Paul Scott

Benediction

Rev. Dr. Alexander Payne, Sr., Pastor, McKinley Memorial Baptist Church of Willow Grove

Please note that the order of service is subject to change due to scheduling.